Manchester City Trophy History - Manchester City News

Trophy History

Manchester City have a rich trophy history with the Etihad Stadium natives now a powerhouse of the English game. Sheikh Mansour bin Zayed Al Nahyan’s takeover in 2008 has delivered a seemingly endless stream of success to continually strengthen the list of how many titles the Citizens have won.

Their 2011/12 Premier League title was Manchester City’s first top-flight trophy since their 1967/68 First Division crown. While more recent years have also delivered vast successes in the domestic cup competitions. Manchester City also reached the Champions League final during the 2020/21 season.

Manchester City have won the English top-flight trophy eight times

Photo by James Gill – Danehouse/Getty Images

The old First Division marked the first English top-flight trophy Manchester City added to their list of titles in 1936/37. The Citizens would only win the top-flight once more before the maiden season of the breakaway Premier League in 1992/93. But Sheikh Mansour’s takeover turned them into a great force.

List of Manchester City’s top-flight titles:

1936/37 (English Football League, First Division)


2011/12 (Premier League)






Along with the top-flight trophies on the list of how many titles Manchester City have won, the club have also lifted seven lower-tier crowns. The Citizens would often top the second-tier whenever the club found themselves outside of the top-flight. They last played in the second-tier back in 2001/02.

List of Manchester City’s other league titles:

1898–99 (English Football League, Second Division)






2001/02 (English Football League, First Division)

Manchester City have won the FA Cup six times

Photo by Action Foto Sport/NurPhoto via Getty Images

The first trophy on the list of how many titles the club have won in Manchester City’s history came in 1903/04 with the FA Cup. It was the club’s 13th campaign of organised league football and their 11th attempt at winning the FA Cup. The Citizens had only progressed beyond the first round twice before.

FA Cup titles feature throughout Manchester City’s trophy history having enjoyed success in multiple decades. But the Citizens are yet to ever retain the title having also endured some lengthy droughts.

List of Manchester City’s FA Cup titles:

1903/04 (beat Bolton Wanderers 1-0 in the final)

1933/34 (beat Portsmouth 2-1 in the final)

1955/56 (beat Birmingham City 3-1 in the final)

1968/69 (beat Leicester City 1-0 in the final)

2010/11 (beat Stoke City 1-0 in the final)

2018/19 (beat Watford 6-0 in the final)

The Citizens have won the EFL Cup eight times

Photo by Marc Atkins/Getty Images

Manchester City entered the English Football League Cup (EFL Cup) for the first time in the 1960/61 season. They have since become one of the most successful teams in the competition’s history. The Citizens won four titles in a row from 2018 to 2021 amid their run of six trophies in eight campaigns.

List of Manchester City’s EFL Cup titles:

1969/70 (beat West Bromwich Albion 2-1 in the final)

1975/76 (beat Newcastle United 2-1 in the final)

2013/14 (beat Sunderland 3-1 in the final)

2015/16 (beat Liverpool 3-1 on penalties in the final)

2017/18 (beat Arsenal 3-0 in the final)

2018/19 (beat Chelsea 4-3 on penalties in the final)

2019/20 (beat Aston Villa 2-1 in the final)

2020/21 (beat Tottenham Hotspur 1-0 in the final)

The Citizens have won the Community Shield six times

Photo by Richard Calver/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images

From winning the major domestic titles that make Manchester City’s trophy history, they have also won the Charity Shield/Community Shield. Few clubs can also rival the Citizens’ record for outright wins in the traditional curtain-raiser to the English season. The Citizens have never yet shared the honour.

List of Manchester City’s Charity Shield/Community Shield titles:

1937 (Charity Shield, beat Sunderland 2-0)

1968 (beat West Bromwich Albion 6-1)

1972 (beat Aston Villa 1-0)  

2012 (Community Shield, beat Chelsea 3-2)  

2018 (beat Chelsea 2-0)   

2019 (beat Liverpool 5–4 on penalties)

Manchester City have won one European title

Photo by Central Press/Getty Images

Manchester City have lifted a European title once in their trophy history with the Cup Winners’ Cup. The Citizens beat Polish outfit Gornik Zabrze in the final for their only UEFA title to date. Their route to the final that season also featured wins against Athletic Bilbao, Lierse, Academica and FC Schalke 04.

List of Manchester City’s European titles:

1969/70 (UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup, beat Gornik Zabrze 2-1 in the final)